2009 SLSC Fall Meeting Recap

Thanks to everyone who attended the 2009 St. Louis Society of Cytology meeting. We had a great turnout, and are very appreciate of everyone's support. We had over 50 attendees this year. We'd also like to thank Dr. Andrew Renshaw for his engaging and informative presentations.

The three topics presented were:

  1. Rapid Pre-Screening in Gynecologic Cytology - How to Improve Your Laboratories' Performance
  2. Update in Renal FNA
  3. Update in Urine Cytology

For those that attended the meeting and have paid their yearly membership dues, you may download the outline for the presentations here. A coupon code to bypass payment will be made available to those paid members by email. If you haven't registered, please do so to receive the coupon code, and the $25 charge for the download access will go towards your 2009-10 membership fees.

The St. Louis Society of Cytology held a vote at the September 26th meeting to determine the Society’s official position on the Missouri Clinical Laboratory Science Practice Act. It was decided by an overwhelming majority that we would NOT be in favor of cytotechnologist involvement in any Licensure bill for the state of Missouri.

In addition, a vote was held to update the bylaws of the St. Louis Society of Cytology in order to explicitly define the terms of Active Membership and Associate Membership.

The updates are as follows:

Active Members: those who have;

  • ASCP certification or IAC certification (or)
  • Board Certified in Anatomic Pathology

Active members shall be those who have paid their annual financial dues. They shall have rights and privileges of the organization and are entitled to hold office.

Associate Members:

  • Students presently engaged in a course in cytology at an approved school of cytotechnology
  • Current resident or fellow in Pathology or Cytopathology
  • Anyone interested in cytology but not engaged presently in screening.
  • Cytology preparation technicians who are interested in cytology

Associate members shall be those who have paid their annual financial dues. They shall have rights and privileges of the organization but are not entitled to hold office.

This year's Society officer's are as follows:
President - Cindy Kilpack, BS, CLS, CT(ASCP)
President-Elect - Ben Murray, CT(ASCP)
Secretary - Jade True, CT(ASCP)
Treasurer - Richard Byrd, SCT(ASCP)MPCM

We heartily appreciate all the hard work of last year's officers; Dr. Lourdes Ylagan,Cindy Kilpack, Ben Murray and Dr. Ashwini Pandit. Thanks for a great year!

Thanks again to our sponsors:

BD Diagnostics - TriPath

We look forward to seeing everyone next year!

Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2006-2020 Site Design by Sage Fish. Powered by Zen Cart.